TD_D mod journey. From stock to the 'bastardmobile'

Td_d

Commander In Chief
I bought a silver GR in late 2009, instantly fell in love with it, and within 400km had a pro-tune done. Stock was 167wkw, post tune, 191wkw. After this brief encounter with modding, I really started getting itchy to get some serious power out of the car, but I was hesitant initially, given I would lose the warranty and a maintenance plan (3 year). So I turned to the forums, and posted this up in mid Feb 2010:

This is not your run of the mill "I'm new to STI, how do I get 3 billion BHP, blah blah" - I have a very specific power goal, identified the parts / mods and have already discussed with a very reputable tuner on this side of the world.

So... my issue is this. I have a late 2009 GR, with 10,000km (6250 miles) on it, protuned stage 1 already from 400km (250 miles - can I stop converting now
smile.gif
) and always running on a minimum of 98 RON, generally more like 99/100 RON (see toluene thread if you're curious). Since I went stage 1, I've been itching to take this car to where it can really go as a safe, but brutal DD - 300 WKw (400 odd WHP).

Now, this means a pretty serious sacrifice - the warranty completely voids - and so will 3/4 dealership services, up to 40,000 miles. Now before I get a whole "it won't be voided, just the part modded, and must be proved, etc." - this is not the States. Touch the car here, and strike 3, you're out, with basically zero recourse. I can quote multiple cases, so I have no illusions there.

I'm sure I'm going to get asked, why not just wait till the 40,000 miles? Well - I was going to, but then I thought - why wait 2 to 2 1/2 years, and mod with an older engine, when I will always be itching to mod now. Rather cost it intelligently, and make an informed decision.

Two questions: