Need general advice

CallumBix

I just purchased an 04 STi and was wondering if anyone had general advice on just about anything? I'm especially interested in general maintenance because I love this car and want it to last, but anything I can't learn from the dashboard or owners manual would be appreciated. When it comes to this car I am a complete noob.

Z1107

As a former employee of a Toyota/Scion/Subaru/Hyundai dealership chain, the motor oil you get at a dealership is crap. Its cheaper crap than what you get at an autoparts store. It might be labeled subaru oil but all it is is basic motor oil with a label slapped on it make it look as though its especially made for your car. UPGRADE to Amsoil.

bugeye_fever

Check the General forum for a sticky with electronic versions of the factory service manuals. Thats probably some of the absolute best info for a new owner.

UndrWrldAssasin

Is there any legitimacy behind a recent statement about oil changes I have heard lately. I have heard that an oil change with a turbo engine is done differently compared to a non turbo engine.

Robert Viehweger

Daily Driver
Here's something about owning that car that no one will tell you until it's too late....

IT IS A TRAP!

Seriously. Once you start playing with it, it will suck you dry and beg you for more money... the scary part?

YOU WILL DO IT AND YOU WILL THINK IT IS ALL YOUR IDEA!

It's really the spirit of Subaru claiming your mortal soul and demanding more and more upgrades, getting you hooked like a fat kid in an ice cream store with gift certificates.

Just a warning really.

Enjoy the ride! We all do.:tard:

Paul.c

Is there any legitimacy behind a recent statement about oil changes I have heard lately. I have heard that an oil change with a turbo engine is done differently compared to a non turbo engine.

I believe the only difference is the frequency in which you change it, nothing different in the way you change it.

HolyCrapItsFast

Drinks beer!