2012 STI and want HKS SSQV blow off valve

babynoah2012

hey guys so I'm getting a new 2012 STI next month.. on my 2008 STI i bought used and it came with a HKS SSQV BOV, i really liked it due to the fact that it was loud and i love the voice overtime i revved my engine........ will it hurt my engine to get it? or is there a way to get that loud BOV sound ??? please advice is greatly appreciated .. yes I'm a noob so please don't bash me i love STI and wanna learn everything but we all got to start somewhere right.. thank you very much

Spamby

Meat Product Toy
There is a few posts here about to BOV or not to BOV. There is also a nice write up that pertains to turbos and this has a part about BPV and BOV. Look for the stickies in the appropriate sections.

There is much debate whether it is safe to run a VTA BOV. Some so don't and others say it's ok.

I personally don't think i t is that huge of an issue but I did a little experiment sometime back. I got a COBB hybrid BOV/BPV. I left the vlave open for about a week and drove around hearing the phssssh noise. I did notice erratic idle, backfires, and sometimes near stalling, especially after sudden throttle lifts. Why is because you have just created a leak and expelling all of the air the MAF thinks is still in the system. Your system runs momentarily rich and the computer says WTF? Buck, snort pop and wooosh.

My opinion: For noise, it ain't worth it. I would rather have a nice idle and a happier engine than a loud woosh of air. A silencer delete and panel filter may get you the woosh you desire, albeit not as loud, from the BPV.
A CAI will also give you the noise but that is another debate.

In the end, it is your call and if you can live with the undesireables that may arise, Go for it!

IGOTASTi

System Operator
Staff member
No bashing will happen here. Welcome. I agree with Spamby, but to each his own. :)

babynoah2012