When did this come into the picture?

STIKC

I traded my 09 MazdaSpeed 3 in for my 2013 Subaru STI. I have been driving a manual for about 8-9 years now and couldn't figure out why I would randomly stall the STI. It was very rare when it happened but every time I was thinking to myself wtf I didn't do anything to cause it to stall. Finally I pin pointed that I was stalling when ever I was on a hill (varying in angles) and using my clutch to hold the car from rolling back before driving forward (that moment you let off the brake and use the clutch to stop the car from rolling back). Once I confirmed this was when I found myself at random times stalling I decided to conqur to find the reason behind it. After playing with the small hill I was on for 30-60 seconds I realized something that blew my mind away. When the hell did the clutch system evolve??? Not sure when Subaru introduced this, if its brand new, or if everyone else caught this but when you let off the brake on a hill the car will automatically put the correct amount of brake on the car to stop it from rolling back for roughly 2-3 seconds. The only way to activate this is by holding the brake and then releasing on the the hill. This feature allows you to release the clutch and push the gas as if you were on a flat surface. I might be a dork but this is so cool to me and I wonder if everyone knew about it, if its brand new feature or if any other cars have this kind of feature.

Grinder34

Track Monkey
its been around. "Hill start assist" or something like that. Kinda cool for a new driver, but I guess I like the satisfaction of starting smoothly on a steep hill WITHOUT an aid.

ZachTTLM