What is a safe level for boost?

13STI

I was wondering if anyone knows what is a safe boost level on a stock EJ257 W/ stock turbo? I heard everything from 22-29 PSI, I just want to settle this once and for all!

THANKS!!!

Alin

Diehard Car Enthusiast!
I'm no pro when it comes to that, but factory is 14.5 psi. A safe tune is around 19-20, but I will let masterminds explain!

Grinder34

Track Monkey
Likewise, the reason why I personally will not push an OEM IHI turbo past 19 psi at redline has nothing to do with the compressor efficiency. The real reason why most stock turbo tunes have tapered boost at the end is the fact that the stock turbo isn't properly balanced to push much more than 19psi at peak flow -- past that point you will over spin the turbo past the balance point -- if you don't believe me -- look around for guys who have blown turbos on a 21 psi tune with a Hallman MBC.

From the master

Batmobile_Engage

Squirrel Meat Aficionado.
Staff member
Fuji's explanation is the best...
...and consider this.

Back in the day when I was on the stock VF39, my tune was set at 20.5 psi at
peak (I can't remember right now what RPM that was but somewhere around 3800?)
and then it tapered off.

However, after reading Fuji's post, it makes me wonder if this was why I eventually
cracked the hot side of that turbo on the wastegate housing.

Food for thought :tup:

Spamby

Meat Product Toy
Fuji's explanation is the best...
...and consider this.

Back in the day when I was on the stock VF39, my tune was set at 20.5 psi at
peak (I can't remember right now what RPM that was but somewhere around 3800?)
and then it tapered off.

However, after reading Fuji's post, it makes me wonder if this was why I eventually
cracked the hot side of that turbo on the wastegate housing.

Food for thought :tup: