Radio Frequency Communications

Batmobile_Engage

Squirrel Meat Aficionado.
Staff member
Just putting a feeler out there...

How many of you have a HAM Radio Operator's License, HAM or CB radio equipment,
VHF or UHF transceivers?

More and more these days we hear a lot of talk about preparing for the worst, whatever
the cause may be, and maintaining communications is a critical part.

I was an electronics tech in the Navy for 8 years, so I'm pretty well versed on RF Comms,
but I've been thinking lately about getting my HAM license. Even if I don't go that far,
I'm still highly considering a semi-portable CB radio system, something I can carry affixed
to my tactical vest, or in a backpack man-portable mount and that also has hook ups
for headphones and mic, DC power adapter inside the vehicle and a roof mounted whip
antenna.

Thoughts?

HolyCrapItsFast

Drinks beer!
I miss my rig. I had fun back in the day when CB was king. I was able to communicate with anyone at any time so I can see it's importance in a post disaster world. I still have my old rig and I keep it for just such calamities. It is unfortunate that CB has been replaced with text and twitter. At the time I couldn't see living with out it.

Batmobile_Engage

Staff member
It seems like if I want to have the best equipment available, I would need a HAM license. I figure, those radios can often dial in individual frequencies where CBs and hand held walkies are restricted to preset channels. Do you think those would be useable in a so called post apocalyptic world? Range is another consideration. It seems that the best handheld are restricted, even at 4 watts, to 2-4 miles LOS.

Spamby

Meat Product Toy