oil

IGOTASTi

System Operator
Staff member
We use AMSOIL.

What you running now?

sarahkingagain

my buddy told me that brad penn is a good choice. I'm not familiar with it, maybe because I'm new to this. What are your thoughts on it?

Spamby

Meat Product Toy
my buddy told me that brad penn is a good choice. I'm not familiar with it, maybe because I'm new to this. What are your thoughts on it?

Brad Penn is a good oil from what I hear. It's a group 3+ oil which means it's a highly refined dyno oil. Seems they use sine group 4 or 5 in their stock to achieve a semi synthetic oil. They look to use high levels of ZDDP, at least from their statements, to help with wear. ZDDP being zinc and phosphorous, anti wear additives.
Only true way is to have a UOA done to see how the oil performs in your engine ( used oil analysis).
Other oils to consider are:
Motul 8100 xcess
Total quartz energy 9000
Shell Rotella t6
Amsoil ??
Redline ??
Castrol euro spec or GC Castrol (German Castrol ) 0-40

Grinder34

Track Monkey
Oil is a big bag of worms. Everyone has their favorites, and even technical analysis can show that oil "A" is better for one STI, while oil "B" is better for literally the next car off of the production line.

There are definitely some popular ones that are almost certainly good for your car, and you can use with confidence...spamby listed those above.

Personally, I use Rotella T6. Its downright cheap, and easily available. I think Walmart has it for like $20/gal, and some times there are mail-in rebates of up to $5. For track days, I usually get some Amsoil from JJ @ dealer cost. But its too expensive for me to want to run it daily.

I see you're abroad, so you may have slightly different options available to you.

drantonides