muffler question

M-STI

Hello guys, i am a noob in the sti world.

Probably some of you might be able to help me. My sti 2011 sedan is completely stock. I think the exhaust rumble is too soft for my liking. A friend suggested for me to get a universal Apexi N1 with 3" inlet and then make a custom stainless steel pipe only until the bracket before the pipe split into 2 (axleback?) so i will only be using 1 muffler instead of 2.

The questions are:
1. Is it fine to use just 1 muffler? Or should i be buying 2 Apexi N1 and bolt them on after the pipe split (last brackets closest to the mufflers)
2. Can i take out the resonator and rear catalytic converter while doing it? My STI is a 2.5 btw.

Thanks heaps guys

Batmobile_Engage

Squirrel Meat Aficionado.
Staff member
Taking out the resonator and catalytic converter will make a noticable difference. Some people say this causes the exhaust to drone, but every driver feels differently about this. If you have someone who can do some cheap welding jobs for you, I'd consider that option first. If money is not a big deal, I'd suggest a turboback exhaust and a tune.

Alin

Diehard Car Enthusiast!
I had to read this a few times to understand and i dont think i still understand. :lol:

It sounds like youre referring to the midpipe that connects in between the downpipe and axelback.

When you say universal apexi n1, are you referring to the GD 02-07 apexi n1 exhaust?

M-STI

Thanks Batmobil-engage.
[MENTION=1172]Alin[/MENTION]: no what i mean is the pipe after the mid pipe. Thanks bro

M-STI

The apexi n1 universal is the muffler apexi made for any car as long as the inlet diameter is suitable for their cars. So it's not model specific.

M-STI