How to Select the Best Turbo for your Car

War_Panda04

STill Plays With Toys!
i think this is a great how to. not just installing but how to go about selecting the right one. i am currently doing research on a turbo for my 07 STi and this is the first time i am upgrading a turbo but there are just too many brands with too many options.

so who has an idea on the best way to select a turbo not just for me but for anyone in the future wanting to upgrade? (help me also lol)

i know how a turbo works but as far as aftermarket designs and ball bearing, ceramic ball bearing, journal bearing and different inlet and compressor sizes its just beyond my knowledge.

Not that I'm an expert but I would start with hp goal. Keep in mind that might change once you realize what mods will be required to get to that point. Example I would have went FP black instead of FP green but I would have to go 1300cc injectors and really should build the heads to get more rpms out of them to get a more usable power band. And for a DD I want quick spool so again another reason why I went FP green. As for ball bearing they say it is more reliable then journal but i got 60k out of my stock and if I get that out if this I will be happy.

War_Panda04

STill Plays With Toys!
Im not really big on having the highest HP i can get. I could care less what the number is really. I have a list of parts including a built closed deck block that i know are high quality and work well together i just dont know what is the beat turbo to compliment them for what i want. Basically i want a car with quicker acceleration rather than high top speed. I dont drive fast i just want something that will pull hard. But my main concern is reliability. Its not a DD since i have another car but i plan on driving it a lot. The other car is just for work nd then the STi comes out basically.

And thats all i have to say about that...