Piston slap or rod knock?

_Broken_WRX_

So I recently bought a built 08 wrx hatch. The engine only has 7k on it since it was rebuilt and is a fairly mild setup. (Just over 300 wheel) The engine sounds fine after its warmed up but there is a distinct high pitch ticking that depends on rpm on startup. It lasts for about 10-20 seconds before fading away. Im thinking it could be rod knock until the engine gets oil pressure. Its got forged pistons and is bored to 99.75. (Manley Pistons) Could this just be piston slap or something worse? The car also needs a new tune. It hasnt been retuned since it got a new certicooler and headers. Also it burns a good bit of oil on startup as well. Im new to subarus as well so anything helps. Im also not sure if im doing cooldowns correctly or not after driving it hard.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Eagleye

Tinkerer
Post a video if you can. Have you changed the oil since having it? Curious if it has any bearing material in it.

_Broken_WRX_

Yes I changed almost as soon as I got it the oil was clear. The catch cans seemed to have normal catch can things in them too. Bot that I know what should be in them. I have a video but Im not sure how to post it on here.

Alin

Diehard Car Enthusiast!

Eagleye

Tinkerer
When you did the rebuild did you install a new timing belt and tensioner? Personally I think that is too loud for piston slap but it could just be the way the video was taken. If the tensioner and belt were replaced I would have the oil pan dropped to check for damage. Not all that time consuming or difficult for peace of mind.

Last edited:

_Broken_WRX_

When you did the rebuild did you install a new timing belt and tensioner? Personally I think that is too loud for piston slap but it could just be the way the video was taken. If the tensioner and belt were replaced I would have the oil pan dropped to check for damage. Not all that time consuming or difficult for peace of mind.