Detonation at low RPM in high gear

auu

Hello, I understand that this a total noob question (hence the section), but I come from a diesel car for the last five years and this is the first week in MY06 so, please, bear with me. I have noticed that when I do a daily commute to work (drive responsibly) there is a heavy detonation, if accelerating from the 3rd or even 2nd gear at around 2K RPM, I fully understand that this is a petrol and the gear probably is too high and that's why the detonation is present, but is it really the case? I just don't feel like switching to 1st gear all the time, is there something to be worried about or I should adjust my driving?

For the info, engine (EJ257) and the car is completely stock USDM with 75K miles on clock, only premium 98 octane has been poured in. Currently Castrol Magnatec 5w40 is inside which has been changed 2K miles ago, this is the other concern of my, I'm not sure the oil is appropriate (semi-syntetic?) for this engine. Did a hell of a read for the last two nights and didn't come to any plausible resolution, currently thinking about going the 5w30 route as the climate over here is quite chill at times and that's the viscosity rate suggested by Subaru and at least in my head I think that 5w30 will be more thick for engine of this milage and will lubricate/protect better than the thinner 5W40, am I wrong?

Thanks and first post for me.

War_Panda04

STill Plays With Toys!
welcome to the site! i probably wont be the best to answer a question like this maybe [MENTION=9]HolyCrapItsFast[/MENTION] or [MENTION=652]Grinder34[/MENTION] could assist. you should make a thread in introductions and show us some pics of the car. i also own a hawkeye MY07.

IGOTASTi

System Operator
Staff member
When was the spark plugs changed last?

HolyCrapItsFast

Drinks beer!
How are you determining knock? Are you actually hearing it or are you logging it?