Hello from Fort myers, FL

TurboDave

Hello folks My name is Dave and I just dumped my 2010 mazdaspeed 3 for a new 2012 STI limited...I think that was a good move but I guess I'll find out. I'm pretty new to the boxster platform and always looking for some pointers to start mods on my new STI. If there are any members that are in my area give me a shout

Deek

Congrats on the upgrade sir! ;) Welcome to the forums. Read around and search, search, search before just throwing things on.

Intake and CBE aren't a bad start... I never went with either until I went full stage 2, which is only one more part, the downpipe. I figured if I'm going to have a good amount of the plumbing off of the car I might as well do the downpipe too. I honestly think that if I would have gone with just intake and CBE that I would have been disappointed and ended up doing the downpipe anyways, being that it is the component that is the most restrictive in the stage 2 component replacement list.

If you have a hatch, which has a less restrictive cat-back on it from the factory than the sedan counterpart, you can honestly go with just an intake and downpipe to reach stage 2 safely. You don't really need a cat-back (on a hatch) until you go beyond that power level, at least so I am told by a few vendors and other experienced individuals.

Stage 1 can be attained by simply reflashing the stock ECU with an OTS (off the shelf) map from Cobb.

For the GR chassis, stage 2 base requirements are intake and downpipe (and CBE if you have a sedan).

Oh, and definitely do NOT do any of these upgrades without immediately tuning the car for it... it doesn't take a grenade to pop a ring-land with our glass pistons... more like a sneeze. :lol: Well not quite that bad, but things can definitely go awry without tuning for the mods, it is very important for these cars.

Last edited:

IGOTASTi

System Operator
Staff member
Welcome to the team. You have come to the right place. First mod is sponsor membership. :)