Engine oil selection

I'm live about 50km from Cape Town and you? I use the car daily with the occasional sprint (would like to do a trackday in the future). I don't know what the internal specs. Still trying to find out the history of the car. The piston slap seems to almost go away when the oil is on temp, but i'm new to all of this... i'm used to 8v opel noises :lol:

A technician from Subaru advised to stick with 10w-60

Perhaps you should stick with 10W60. If you are hearing piston slap when the motor and oil is at operating temperature and you are using 10W60 oil, then that motor was spec'd and assembled improperly IMO. Do you consume any oil?

Very interesting read, thanks for the info.
The above is what i dis when selecting my oil however I had some dead ends so i decided to change the grade die to my application. My piston slap has reduced.

I se u mentioned multigrade, I'm running Fully Synthetic. Any comment or pro's and con's on this?

I prefer a good synthetic like Amsoil, Motul or Redline. If you are using a conventional oil then you just have to change it frequently.

Synthetic oils have better properties all around and are likely to work better under extreme conditions

ruan

It does consume a little bit of oil. How do i know the difference between piston slap and lifters(asuming the lifters can be heard on a subaru)?

Sent from my E2303 using Tapatalk

HolyCrapItsFast

Drinks beer!
Lifters would be a rapid clatter unless it is just one. Like marbles. Piston slap is like a thud that coincides with the rotation of the motor. This doesn't necessarily mean it is a bad thing depending on what the engine was built for. For daily driving and occasional track days, it is not desirable.

What kind of horse power are you putting down? I usually never recommend anything other than a stock block on anything 400HP or less combined with a good tune.

ruan