STi vs. EVO

Paul.c

This thread will be dedicated to the never ending battle between the Subaru Impreza WRX STi and the Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution. I would like to keep this thread as technical as possible by keeping the uninformative YouTube videos of a random STi vs. Evo out of here. However, if you know of a good comparison video, article, write-up, etc., please feel free to post it up in here. Like I said before, I want this thread to be as tech related as possible. This will also be somewhere where members new and old can come to ask questions regarding the differences between the 2. I am no expert in the subject but I know there are some very knowledgeable and experienced members out there.

I'll get it started with some simple video comparisons:

Now that we have that established we can discuss other aspects that the non-partial:roll: "third party" reviewers miss.

First thing is the engine/transmissions:

The EVO's engine is known for it's ability to make gobbs of power and last a long time. We are talking over 400whp(the STis recommended stock internals threshold) on the stock internals. The downside to this is that the Evo transmission and diffs cant handle this kind of power. This is the area where I believe the STi really stands out. The STi tranny and diffs are considered "bulletproof" by many race teams and enthusiasts. Now, keep in mind that I am talking about stock components here. The idea that you can make an STi nearly unstoppable by focusing on the engine alone is why it is the clear winner in my book. Whereas, with the Evo you have to build your transmission to suit your power needs. I am not sure what the unofficial "stopping point" for the Evo tranny is so please enlighten me if you know.

please add any details you can to this so as to inform others of the STi superiority!:cool:

IGOTASTi

System Operator
Staff member