Transmission options

blown_RS

As a few of you know I'll be under taking a bit of a project this spring/summer with my 2.5RS :D

My question to some of the more senior members here, as I am very new to the Subaru community and more specifically the GC8, is what kind of transmission options are there out there for a guy trying to make a solid 400/400 to the wheels and plans of beating the ever living FAWK out of it? :tard: cars are made to be driven right?

I've toyed with the idea of PPG's but not sure if I want to pony up the 5K for the gears and its not going to be a full on track car... yet... lol

thanks guys, i'll be sure to post up the tear down and build up in the members journal section when I start it, I can gaurntee that you'll want to look in on that one when it happens :drool:

:cheers:
Cheers
Tony

HolyCrapItsFast

Drinks beer!
Just a crazy thought. :tard:

Have you looked into seeing if the STi drive train will fit into an RS? I have seen entire drive trains (Tranny, axles, drive shaft, wheel hubs, brakes, rear diff, wire harness and DCCD control module) go for as little as $4800

I would imagine there is going to be some fabrication and modification of parts but well worth it versus paying $5000 for juts gears (That aren't really better than stock sti gears anyway IMO)

blown_RS

Just a crazy thought. :tard:

Have you looked into seeing if the STi drive train will fit into an RS? I have seen entire drive trains (Tranny, axles, drive shaft, wheel hubs, brakes, rear diff, wire harness and DCCD control module) go for as little as $4800

I would imagine there is going to be some fabrication and modification of parts but well worth it versus paying $5000 for juts gears (That aren't really better than stock sti gears anyway IMO)

I already have STi front hubs, I'll end up doing rear hubs during the build as well, but no I havent looked into a full driveline swap.