Next Corvette Will Be Powered by Small, High-Revving Turbo V-8!

IGOTASTi

System Operator
Staff member

HolyCrapItsFast

Drinks beer!
I know GM can build a twin turbo V8. I've seen them do it. You could look back to my days and find several renditions of the firebird that had twin turbo V8's.

Way back when I was a field service tech I was fortunate enough to visit the GM tech center in Detroit. That was there main research and development facility and they produced many different prototypes. Unfortunately they would destroy anything they ever made after its purpose was fulfilled including whole cars. Well one of the bean counters there found that there was a lot of money being spent on transportation and utility vehicles so they had the idea to distribute prototype vehicle to the employees for use on sight and for utilitarian purposes instead of destroying them after use.

The maintenance person that I was with was given an S10 pickup truck with a 454 twin turbo engine. He took me out on the test track and I can say without a doubt that that was the scariest and fastest vehicle I have been in to date.

So I have no doubt that GM can do it well.

60md

10,000rpm's? Turbo? I'm hopefully no where near a mid-life crisis yet this has my attention!

Rice Rocket

Good for them. Nice to see some forward thinking coming from the American manufacturers.
Wouldn't it suck if they badge it an Opel and didn't sell it here. Lol

Good for them. Nice to see some forward thinking coming from the American manufacturers.
Wouldn't it suck if they badge it an Opel and didn't sell it here. Lol

What do you mean nice to see some forward thinking coming from American manufactures? Ford has been tearing it up and the Corvette has always been ahead of the curve when it comes to performance for the $$$$. I really hope Chevy does this, could help the price of the C6 Z06's drop a bit so I can get into one. :D

Rice Rocket