Blow off valve

Treyw147

I'm going to start off by saying I am a mechanic but when it comes to turbos I'm not that knowledgeable. So don't laugh at me.
I have a 2011 sedan Sti limited. I'm currently running: cobb cold air intake with box, cobb turbo back exhaust, and v3 access port with 91 oct boost map ext..

I want to buy and install the cobb Tuning XLE Blow Off Valve. Obviously because I would to have the iconic sound they produce.

My question is, is it really just a buy and install part? Do I need to modify anything else or upgrade? Do I need to run a certain map/tune for this? Is this a good blow off valve for my car? Well it produce the iconic sound?

I've been trying to do my research. I've seen that some say if I don't take out the mass airflow sensor the car would run like crap. Some say I don't need to. Some say I have to change the waste gate.

Not sure what to do here. Any help would be muchly appreciated. Thanks

War_Panda04

STill Plays With Toys!
why do you want the blow off valve? you want the pshh? its a waste of air if you are thinking performance in my opinion. [MENTION=9]HolyCrapItsFast[/MENTION] [MENTION=652]Grinder34[/MENTION] [MENTION=662]Batmobile_Engage[/MENTION]

Grinder34

Track Monkey
Holy will definitely be able to answer better, but in a standard MAF tune, you're getting rid of metered engine air with a BOV, so you'll be running rich. Rich isn't as bad as lean, so it's (probably) not a huge engine safety issue. Ideally with a BOV you'd switch to something like a Speed Density (SD) tune.

Batmobile_Engage

Squirrel Meat Aficionado.
Staff member